Missing the D.C. Randonneurs RUSA 200K

As some of you know, I won’t attend the the RUSA 10th Anniversary 200K brevet tomorrow as I am with daughter DF visiting my mom and sister in southern Illinois. This is one of those times when I’m reminded that randonneuring is recreation and that a balanced life means I won’t get to every event (kind of like all the fleches held on Easter).

I nonetheless wish I could be there with everybody. On the other hand, making it to some but not all DCR events will keep me grateful for the times I can ride, which is a good thing. I can’t wait to see the pictures and stories from the D.C. Randonneurs brevet in Poolesville, Md. where MG will fly the flag for us on her Rivendell Romulus solo bike. GO MG!

MG's view of her Romulus

MG's view of her Romulus

Today (Aug. 15) DF and I went for a hike around Lake Glendale in the Shawnee National Forest, about 45 miles from my mom’s house in Shawneetown, Ill. School started today and the trail was absolutely deserted save for a few late season RV campers. We had a nice walk and it was a great way to spend the afternoon.

with DF and furry friend at Lake Glendale, Ill.

With DF and furry friend at Lake Glendale, Ill.

Leave a Reply

