We’ll Miss You, Stan.

Stan Miller 1962-2010.

Read more about Stan’s death here.

8 thoughts on “We’ll Miss You, Stan.

  1. ed and mary — im just crushed. crushed. i dont even know what to say. i saw the news on washcycle’s blog. devastating…

  2. Stan and I never exchanged more than simple hellos, but his ever-present smile made me wonder if he had discovered some secret to riding that I had yet to learn. He was always smiling. I mourn for him, and for the lost opportunity to ask, “Stan, what’s your secret?”

    The driver better be charged with no less than murder.

  3. I was always impressed by Stan’s good cheer and willingness to help. He reminded us more than once that he was a former mechanic and was always willing to help with repairs. A gem of a guy. We asked our church to say a prayer for his soul and for his family today.

    This was a truly senseless crime. It reminds us to cherish the time we have with the people in our lives.

  4. Stan kept us in good spirits and full of laughter on this year’s 300KM and 400KM rides, despite some very challenging conditions. I’ve never finished brevets in such a good mood, and I think a lot of that was due to Stan’s good humor. I think he saw the brevets as a journey, and not simply a destination. The arbitrariness of someone being struck and killed by an (alleged) drunk driver infuriates me and makes me so sad at the same time. If Stan had simply missed a traffic light and been delayed 30 seconds, he’d be here now. We could have easily lost Keith last year. Now, Stan’s name becomes another one we add to the Ride of Silence next year.

  5. On the 400k brevet, Stan and I rode together the whole day. Such a fun and neat fellow. I tried to talk him into spending this past weekend on the Great Allegheny Passage and C&O Canal Towpath, but he said that he was going back to school and wanted to be fresh. He told me about his joy of tandem riding with his ex years ago, his trips to Costa Rica, his years as a bicycle mechanic. Now he was working in biotech and seemed really happy. He had one of the hairiest chests I have ever seen. When we stopped at the golf course on the 400k brevet to get some food and warm up, I remember him peeling off one layer to show his chest above some sort of low cut one-piece cycling suit. Very funny.

    He almost died that day, too. There was some idiot puling a very wide trailer that came within inches of him.

    Oh, he was a fearless descender. I can’t remember where we were, but on one descent in the rain, he just zoomed past me. Later, descend South Mountain in driving rain and full dark, he was like a bullet.

    I only got to know him the one day, but it was a rich one.

  6. To all his randonneurring buddies – Stan loved this group. He shared his stories everytime he came back from (what I called) one of his crazy rides. This year he did several of those “crazy” rides and was trying so hard to complete the elusive 600K. One of my favorite stories of Stan on a brevet is him riding through the flooded low water bridge in the middle of the night as 2 other riders looked on and yelled for him to come back. He always made me laugh and it’s good to hear so many other people were able to enjoy his spirit too.

  7. I didn’t know Stan but wish I had, he sounds like the perfect riding partner (though it sounds like he’d have left me on the descents). Nice touch, his picture in the title bar.

Leave a Reply

