TDR Rando Photo Winners: Randonneur Lifestyle

The wait is over! Tonight we begin announcing the winners of the 2nd Annual TDR Rando Photo Contest.

Before we begin, our thanks go to guest judge Gregg Bleakney. We also want to recognize Velo Orange, which matched the winner’s award, bringing the prize to $50 in store credit.

Tonight we showcase the Winner and Runner Up in the Randonneur Lifestyle category.

Winner: Rob Hawks. Santa Cruz Randonneurs, Central Coast 1000K.

(c) Rob Hawks: Santa Cruz Randonneurs, Central Coast 1000K. Just before sunset, Day 3, Approx. mile 580 on the Santa Cruz Randonneurs Central Coast 1000km, June 2010 Randonneur is Bruce Berg. The temperature was dropping quickly and for miles around there was no place at all to sit as Bruce put on a layer of clothing against the oncoming chill.

Gregg’s comments:

This image conveys a great sense of space in a beautiful landscape. I think many will identify with the solitary time spent as a Randonneur on the side of the road.  Certainly this sport is more grit than glamour.

Runner-Up: Joe Platzner. Seattle Randonneurs 200K.

(c) Joe Platzner: Seattle Randonneurs 200K. Lifestyle was taken near the end of a 200K in March near La Conner, WA. We used it as an example of what not to do at the establishments who feed us along the way.

Gregg’s comments:

Some of the greatest photos aren’t necessarily of beautiful things but rather, tell compelling stories through other subject matter. This image reminds us of both the positive economic value and negative waste we generate during our rides. Is there a solution?

Congratulations, Joe and Rob!

Rob gets a $50 Velo Orange gift certificate and, as runner up, Joe gets a copy of Bike Snob NYC’s book! I will follow up with you both.

To view a complete gallery of all our excellent entries, click on the photo below.

Randonneur Lifestyle

Tomorrow: Obligatory Cow Photo/Nature Shot. Don’t miss it!

4 thoughts on “TDR Rando Photo Winners: Randonneur Lifestyle

  1. Congrats to Rob Hawks. His photo is beautiful and representative of the spirit/lifestyle of randonneuring. As for the runner up image – I have to say that I respectfully disagree with the judge. It seems to me that even the photographer acknowledged that the image doesn’t represent the randonneuring lifestyle, which is why it was used as an example of what not to do on brevet. To the contrary, since beginning in this sport, I have met more people whose love of the outdoors and cycling have led to year round bike commuting, reduction of their consumption footprint and other actions which counter the message suggested by the image selected.

  2. Hi NG – I’m actually glad that you disagree with the runner-up image. I picked this photo because I thought that it would stir debate–and good photos can do that. When I first saw it, it forced me to think about my own impact during long rides. I agree with you that people who love of the outdoors and cycling tend to share a low-impact lifestyle, and that’s one reason we love to ride brevets together. But while we all strive to uphold this lifestyle, I’ve witnessed the waste generated on mass-participation rides like the PBP and also glanced in the trash bin at my own personal waste–after hammering two plastic chocolate milk containers, a coke, and a Starbux Frat-Boy-In-Chinos–and thought, “Jeeze, I know that this is really great for the local economy, but I wonder if it would have been lower impact to do something else today or jack myself full of calories in another way?”

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention TDR Rando Photo Winners: Randonneur Lifestyle « The Daily Randonneur -- Topsy.com

  4. I was taken by that photo of Joe’s when I was looking at all the entries. Any brevet where there are many riders you will no doubt come across this scene. I do think of the waste created and how my randonneuring practices include things I never do in ‘civilian’ life (I never buy bottled water otherwise, but do on brevets). I have to ask though, how this photo in an instruction of what not to do. What should be done instead?

Leave a Reply

