Time for a new look

For a long time this blog has been organized with the Sapphire theme, one of the free themes in WordPress. It liked it a lot — can you tell, since it hasn’t changed since, oh, 2006?

The thing I always wanted to change was the placement of the blog title in the header box. It tended to lay right across someone’s wonderful smile or sparking eyes. And, yes, I say that even for the folks whose pictures are taken in the later stages of a long brevet or randonnee.

I looked at themes tonight and saw Reddle, which solved the header problem and opened up a lot of white space on the blog. It’s a change that I hope you’ll like.

Hey, everybody else went to similarly open themes a long time ago (looking at you, Velo Orange!) and it was time to get with the program. Story of my life.

Tinkering with the look is also a way for me to get back in on the blog saddle after taking some time off from TDR during and after the holidays. MG and I have actually been riding our bikes and even completed a January 200K permanent, which I plan to write about in the coming days.

MG and Lane doing a little coffeeneuring.

We’ve got a full year of randonneuring and training rides ahead of us, and hope you’ll come along for the ride.

In the meantime, have a look at one of the blogs that has been inspring me of late with my bike photography: Eric Benjamin’s Adventure Monkey. One of my goals this year is to take photos that tell the story of our rides and Eric does a great job.

To that end I’ve joined the Project 365 group at Flickr. The goal is to upload a photo every day for a year. I’ll be posting a lot of randonneuring and training ride photos to the group!

A belated Happy New Year to all. It’s good to be back.

3 thoughts on “Time for a new look

Leave a Reply

