Spiraling Into 2017

When one gets obsessive about annual cycling mileage, Jan. 1 marks the abrupt end of one quest and the start of another.

Looking Out Over the Potomac

Looking Out Over the Potomac

 

I made it a goal around Thanksgiving to get to 8,000 miles in 2016, and dubbed the effort Project 8K on my Twitter & Instagram feed to motivate myself.

It seemed doable, with about 350 miles to go in December, my records told me. Then I found a big mistake in my log — I had uploaded a century twice by running two Garmin GPS units on a ride. Why? I was debugging a problem with my Edge 810 bike unit and rode with my GPS watch as a backup, and forgot that it uploaded the miles on the next sync some days later.

Taking that ride out was the only honorable thing to do. But it made my goal jump to 450 miles, no small amount in December with iffy weather and holiday time with family. I started putting in a few extra miles on the weekdays and rode a 200k with the DC Randonneurs with Mary on Dec. 3, which got me closer. But then I got sick and lost four days mid-month, including a weekend.

Things looked tight, but I got some miles at the Hains Point 100 and managed a solo century on the Dec. 23, which did most of the job. Along the way I got some very nice online and in-person cheering from the BikeDC gang as I posted my progress. Thanks all!

I made it to 8K on Dec. 29, fittingly riding around Hains Point after work with Mary and our mega-miler pal Judd joining in.

Me and Judd (courtesy Mary G)

Me and Judd (courtesy Mary G.)

 

Then, barely 48 hours later, I’m back at zero miles on Jan. 1. Geez! At least all the other mile/kilometer chasers were in the same boat. It was our good luck then that we had mild, dry weather on Sunday, and we took the tandem out to Adamstown, Md. for a long ride west to Shepherdstown, W.Va. and back.

Quiet Winter Roads

Quiet Winter Roads

 

I modified the Century of the Spiral Staircase to start in Adamstown to an 88-mile version that let us start a little later in the morning, and meet a local furniture dealer after the ride.

Glad to Be Out Riding

Glad to Be Out Riding

 

This century was one cued by tandem riders John Fauerby and Lynne Rosenbusch, whose death caused by a drunk driver on Halloween in 2015 remains hard to accept. Here’s a link to a memorial fund set up in their honor to promote the work of Bike Maryland to make the roads safer for all users.

Here’s their full 1o1.5-mile route, (input by our riding buddy Eric P.), and our shorter route.

Gapland, a Familiar Sight

Gapland, a Familiar Sight

 

To celebrate New Year’s Day I counted our firsts of 2017 along the way. Here are a few:

  • first tandem ride of the year;
  • first summit of iconic high point Gapland;
  • first lunch at Blue Moon Cafe, a Shepherdstown favorite;
  • first espressos at Lost Dog Espresso, another Shepherdstown favorite;
  • first hauling of the tandem down the spiral staircase to the C&O Canal Towpath in Harper’s Ferry;
  • first “she’s not pedaling” jibe by yet another smartaleck old guy;
  • first sunset together on the bike!

On the final miles we caught up to a group of randonneurs riding a 200K permanent. They had 30 miles to go with the sun going down and were happy as clams. Check out these smiles.

 

Randonneurs Katie, Emily, Mike, Steve and Nick

Randonneurs Katie, Emily, Mike, Steve and Nick

 

Our ride also got us going in the annual Bike Arlington Freezing Saddles winter riding challenge. This is my second year and I’m again shooting for perfect attendance. This is my chance to make up for never getting the attendance ribbon in elementary school, I always stayed home sick at least once.

Good luck and tailwinds this year, readers. We’ll be looking for you!

 

5 thoughts on “Spiraling Into 2017

  1. It is easy to appear to be obsessed with the miles! The thing is, for those of us who love riding so much, it’s fun and games rather than a pathological obsession. I LIKE keeping track of them and achieving the goal.

  2. We got out our tandem miles in on Sunday too. It’s always great to have a New Year’s Day ride on the books. We always count out mileage to the first “She’s Not Pedaling” of the year. None yet this year but our best was back in 2014 on January first where we got it at 7 miles in. I’m doubting that record is never eclipsed. Love seeing pictures of your Spectrum tandem.

    • Glad you guys got out. New Year’s was doubly quiet this year, being a Sunday, which made for a nice outing. One of my someday projects is to make up cards to give the “SNP” wags congratulating them on their keen sense of humor.

      • We appreciated your “profile” of the SNP commenters as old guys which is our typical too. I typically say, “she must be because all I’m doing is steering”. Love to see a write-up and more pictures on the Spectrum when you have time. We ride a Co-motion Speedster which is our sport-about and a Bushnell which is being transitioned to touring and gavel riding.

  3. Haha, that group of cheerful randonneurs wasn’t smiling so much, fifteen miles later. The bottom dropped out of the thermometer, and the way back was a lot hillier than the way out … even though that part of the route was out-and-back. But we got it done and had a nice post-ride dinner.

Leave a Reply

